Do We Get An Early Spring??

Oh my gosh please say yes!!! I need a little sunshine with a side of heat please…. So I am not your usual running type. I lOVE running on my treadmill, but I am ready to get outside. You know without freezing every small part that hangs off my body. Okay that would mean fingers, toes, ears, and nose. I am sooooo glad I am not a boy during this season, because I am pretty sure that that small part wants to freeze right off too!!! That would be a horrible headline right there. Especially if you were the one that froze that small part off right?!! Man Freezes His Tada-tada Right Off While Running Outside Today! See not good at all..

So today while I was running on my treadmill I was day dreaming, or at least trying to day dream in between trying to die, about Spring and the fun Spring races that are coming up.  I am really excited about the two I am going to run (SLC Half and Ogden Half). I haven’t run in the Salt Lake City Half before, but I have heard it is pretty fun running into the Gateway to finish. It is kind of funny that we run so far just to have a quarter-mile of fun right?!  Well it is probably more funny that I pretty much run to collect hardware and t-shirts. Oh, and to eat!! That is actually the main purpose of my running. “I Run To EAT!!!” Okay, I really like to run with my peeps too!

Now here is my issue with running on the treadmill right now and maybe this is why people don’t enjoy them much.. I can’t just get on the dumb thing and say, Oh I am just going to go easy and have a great run! Well, I am lying I always say that before I get on, and then the, Well lets just see if you can go a little faster, thing starts.  Then I am running entirely too fast trying to use every mantra I can think of to keep me going!!! If I could breathe I would probably start screaming like they do on Biggest Loser. Do you ever think while watching that show, Hey if you have the freakin’ energy to scream and cry you most definitely have the energy to keep working hard? (whoa, sorry about that part you almost lost me on a Biggest Loser moment) Anyway, I did not have the energy to scream at myself. I barely had the energy to stay on the freakin’ treadmill!!! I know you are asking, “Well why don’t you just slow down then?” To that I say, Don’t be crazy, I have worked at this speed before, so I have to prove to myself that it wasn’t a fluke!!!

See my friend, I love my treadmill, but when I am running outside I don’t start to turn crazy myself!!! I can just go out and find a nice speed and run. Simply run!!

Can everyone cross their fingers that the Groundhog did whatever is needed (saw his shadow, did not see his shadow, pulled out a beach towel and an umbrella) to bring us an early Spring. We would hate for me to be more crazy than I already am right?!!! I mean it is fun and all, but we can only have so much fun-ness right?!!!

Let’s continue to put on the layers and get out there and live life more!!!

About Kathi

I am a runner! I am a mom of three and wife to one!!! I started running in high school, and it seems I was never able to shake it off. I have tried to breakup with running many times, but running just seems to always be a part of my life. I have been running so long that my husband runs, my sisters run, my brother runs, my 76 year old dad runs. I feel like if I can't breakup with running I better bring everyone else I love into the fold! I guess you could call our relationship a love/hate relationship. I sure hate running when I wake up for a race at 4:30 in the morning, but I sure love it when I cross the finish line!!!
This entry was posted in Everyday Running, Races, Ramblings, So Funny! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Do We Get An Early Spring??

  1. Jkbjensen says:

    Good news is that that crazy rodent saw his shadow! Spring is on its way!Only down side is, he is only right 39% of the time. cross your fingers

    • Kathi says:

      Well why do we count on him to tell us if Spring is coming early if he is only right 39% of the time? That is not a good percentage rate at all!! Now I am a little miffed at that guy for sure… If we are going to give you an entire day then you better be able to call it right!!!

  2. Kim Hall says:

    I hear Sunset Sam out your way is more accurate. Let’s hope he calls for SPRING! Oh I need Spring.

    • Kathi says:

      Who is Sunset Sam??? Is there a way I can send him a memo stating that his life is at stake is he does not call for an early Spring? My fingers are freezing just typing this reply!!! Uuugggghhhhh!!!! That is anger right there….

  3. aka sis oh Kami says:

    REALLY, really!!! He better have pulled out the towel and the umberella, and a whole heck of alot of spring or I am going to LOSE IT!!!!!!! I’m just saying bring on the HEAT now!!!!
    I need to be outside and doing what I do.

Leave a Reply

