Five Down, One To Go!!! Layton Half Marathon is Complete!

I am that much closer to hitting my goal of running 6 half marathons by the end of the year, and you know what? I’m not even counting down. Well maybe I am counting a little tiny bit. Okay the cold is freaking me out, and I didn’t want to run my last halfs in the snow dang it!!!

Well as you all know the weather took a HUGE dip in Utah, leaving us to start the Layton Half Marathon at 40 degrees. Yeah, not my idea of a good running temp. In fact it made me have more pre-race anxiety/grumpiness than usual.

So, the Layton Half Marathon wouldn’t be one of my top three choices, however, it is pretty much in my backyard, so I had to run it right?! Well, I loved that I was able to run with my sister and the love of my life (yeah he is back!), but this race is just not as exciting as I would like it to be. Think of the colors brown and orange… Is that exciting? NO, it is really kind of blah right? Yeah, that was the colors of the race shirt we received the night before. Brown and orange really?!! Brown and Orange!!! Brown And Orange!!!

I had to take a few days before I wrote this, because I didn’t want to just vent. Bad news, waiting the extra day didn’t help at all. This was the second year for this race, so I am still giving them a little bit of a chance. That just means I would probably run it again because I don’t have to wake up at 4 in the morning to get there. I really want it to be a great exciting race, and they are not quite there yet. They did make one improvement over last year, and that was they had the half start on the island. You know if someone cared about my opinion (race directors), and happened to ask me for it, I would tell them: 1. Runners run races for great shirts. The tech-t’s are not working because you can’t buy a good quality one, so go for an awesome t, say like the DD. If you want to stay with a tech-t pick a good color dang it. Oh, and that is not Brown or Orange!! 2. Runners do not get up early to stand in the cold for no good reason. (If you have 900 runners sign up for a race and you are providing the transportation to the start, maybe have enough busses for 900 runners not 600). Just a suggestion. 3. Runners do have other things planned later in the day, so maybe think about starting the race on time. 4. Runners need a little entertainment along the way. Especially if you are running by the cows. Maybe you could talk to a couple of High School/Jr. High/local bands and maybe add some excitement along the route. I mean I shouldn’t complain, fifty pounds of fury and I were able to talk about the cow that mooed at us for a good five minutes, so that was good placement of a cow! If you don’t want to go to that much work maybe a little excitement at the end of the race would be good. Say some music playing. Once again just a suggestion. (Hello my dads stake race had more excitement. I’m just sayin’). You know I am just going to let it be with number 5. Runners run races for the bling!!! You can’t hand out finishers medals that are so cheap that the runners are like “What The Hell puppy” when they cross the finish line (they are like silver gum wrappers glued together to make a medal). We want to go with a “That was tough, but I just received some great bling to make it all worth it!” We want to be able to put something in the shoe box that we are proud of (I know you have good intentions of displaying that awesome medal. You just need to keep it in the shoe box until you find something). So Give Us Something We Can Work With People!!

Other than a few complaints the race went well. My time was 1:42:something. (since we don’t have those posted we have to go with something) I was 3rd in my age division. 7th female overall, and 34th overall.

I am hoping to hear that the organizers get ummm organized next year, and maybe in a years time they will really understand why runners run races. If not I have come up with a great plan. I am going to save my registration fee. Book a spa appointment. Have someone drop my peeps and I off 13.1 miles away from the spa and then run to the spa. I will call it Spa Day 13.1. My favorite race support/volunteer will be in charge of my fuel stations (that is you dad, so be ready!!!). It will be perfect. I bet I will even run faster to make sure I make my appointment. 

About Kathi

I am a runner! I am a mom of three and wife to one!!! I started running in high school, and it seems I was never able to shake it off. I have tried to breakup with running many times, but running just seems to always be a part of my life. I have been running so long that my husband runs, my sisters run, my brother runs, my 76 year old dad runs. I feel like if I can't breakup with running I better bring everyone else I love into the fold! I guess you could call our relationship a love/hate relationship. I sure hate running when I wake up for a race at 4:30 in the morning, but I sure love it when I cross the finish line!!!
This entry was posted in A Runner's Thoughts!, Everyday Running, Half Marathon, Inspiring, Races, Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Five Down, One To Go!!! Layton Half Marathon is Complete!

  1. Kim says:

    Ditto! I second your review. I had fun running with you!

  2. McKel says:

    Oh good! I thought it was just me being grumpy. This was my first half marathon and I was angry that the chips on our bibs weren’t working and definitely that they had us wait in the cold for an hour and a half. I was way disappointed in my time and later realized that it was because of the cold. Glad I wasn’t the only one that wanted to vent.

    • Kathi says:

      Oh I am sorry that you expierenced this one for your first. For excitement do Salt Lake Half next year or for scenery and excitement do Ogden’s Half. If you just want a fun one, do the Halloween Half, however, just know you won’t be able to walk down the stairs for about four days. The down hill is crazy!!!

Leave a Reply

