Vegas Baby…..Ragnar Style!

Oh, I think I might be addicted to Ragnar Races. I am not sure if it is accomplishing something so fun, or if the people I run with are always so fun, or both.

I do know that I love the comradery between all the teams. Everyone that is running Ragnar supports everyone else. I am sure that there are teams out there that really set out to win, but for the most part, I think every team out there is just out there for completion. Then celebration of course!!! (Oh the celebration wasn’t done Vegas style, just the running)

I was a little nervous to start because, the love of my life and I, we were suppose to meet fifty pounds of fury, my other great running sister, my cute running niece, and her cute running friend at our first exchange. Well they don’t have an inner GPS or clock cause they got lost right off the bat. I had to start my first leg kind of in a scramble, and I am not so fond of a scramble!!

Once they did arrive, I was already two miles into my run, up a pretty good incline. They were for sure I was going to kill them with the look on my face, however, that was just my typical running face. (What am I going to do about that flippin’ “Bitch face”? I need Botox!! Oh, then I could change the name to “Poker face” cause you would just not know right?!!) Well, nothing like a good 6 miles, with the first 4 up hill, to get rid of some, “I can’t believe they didn’t give themselves enough time to get to the start” tension. By the time I finished my first leg it just didn’t matter anymore.

After we had all run our first legs and my niece’s cute running friend handed back off to van 1, we knew that we were a couple of hours ahead of schedule, and might be held up at our second legs at the next exchange for about three hours longer than expected. I was a tad bummed, because, I really wanted to just run through at the time we were at. However, I guess it was more important to have the course set up, so I wouldn’t get lost!!

They did let us start about an hour earlier then they were going to, so I was able to start running just after 10p.m.. This run also started and continued to be on an incline. It is a good thing I enjoy a hill, because, hills is what I got for sure!! This leg was also a 6 mile run, but it was through the city, and I loved it!! It totally reminded me of running with my good friend in Arizona. It was still warm from the day’s sun, and the landscape was exactly the same. Even though the run was a little tough, I was able to run with just my thoughts, and memories. I had great running memories with some great peeps, and just some great thoughts of my mom. I always love it when I have runs like these, because, they seem so easy.

Once I handed off to my great running sister, I was able to hear about the bathroom battle

She will eat you alive!!

that fifty had while I was away. Yeah, it wasn’t quite a bathroom brawl, but entertaining still. I’m just going to say, don’t mess with the little ones that look like they wouldn’t hurt a fly, because you might be messin’ with fifty!!!
These are the things that make running at midnight seem super fun, and keep you laughing for hours!!! If you want to laugh and hear great stories, make sure you are with fifty in the late hours of the night!!!

Oh, speaking of fifty, there was another battle right after the bathroom battle. However, it was a running battle. She happened to start her second leg with who we named “Orange shorts”. Orange shorts was just another runner, who happened to have about the same pace a fifty. We thought for sure she could take him. We chanted, fifty, fifty, fifty, yelled, encouraged, and she made us proud by holding strong to him.
Together they caught “The giant” (he was super tall okay!). Now there were three in the battle. Mr. Orange shorts was not letting down. Fifty was always at his shoulder, and together they both ran at the hip of “The giant”. It was like watching the Jazz when they were almost awesome. It was a tied game for 4 miles. Then fifty told them how fast they were going, and Mr. Orange shorts pulled away. Oh, it was a great running battle!! Even though Orange shorts beat her by a hair, we were so proud she battle all the way, never giving up!! That’s fifty pounds of fury, if you didn’t know!!!

Now the break before our third legs. It was all of our longest legs, and I think we were all a

Always having a good time!!

bit nervous. Although, we never lack excitement! We slept and then worried about what to wear for our next runs. I know exciting right?!

I started my third leg at about 8 a.m. and it was freezing. I was a little upset with my clothing selection, but I was hoping that it would warm up soon. I mean I had 10 miles for it to gain a little warmth.

Once again I started my run with an incline. (Incline was definitely the theme of my runs) Oh, and this happened to be the “Ragnar Hill”) I had a pretty fierce head wind, and I was lacking confidence and my body not being 100% had me a little worried if I could do it. Then I could see someone ahead of me. I could barely see them, so I decided that I would set a tiny of goal of catching him before the 10 miles was up. I wasn’t sure if it was possible, but it was something to aim for right? two miles in I realized that my runner ahead had started walking. I just told myself to keep putting one foot in front of the other. He started running again, but I knew at that point that he was going to be caught soon, and that he was.

Slap my ass as you pass!

At the 3 mile mark I had to start telling myself “Pain is only temporary”, and I spotted my next goal ahead. Another runner that was dying to be caught by me. Once again I just told myself to catch him before the end. Instead of focusing on the pain I was  experiencing, I decided that I would focus on lifting my heels and knees a little higher. It wasn’t long before I realized that I was about to pass my next runner. On this length and incline of hill, I wasn’t planning on passing anyone, so to pass two guys was awesome!! Oh, my gosh I was getting excited because I was about to pass a third guy, and then I saw one last person to try to catch before the top of  the hill. I wasn’t sure because I could barely see him. and I knew I was getting close to the top of the hill. I didn’t think I would have enough time to catch him before the downhill started. Once again I just focused on making my pace just a hair faster than his. Then, oh my gosh, he is that close to the top and he started walking!! I had to catch him at that point. Well I caught him with just about a quarter of a mile left of the hill. I was excited, but I wasn’t sure if that was enough to stay in front of him on the downhill. Yeah, I should have tripped him!! He caught me back about two miles into the downhill. I even tried to stay with him, but my legs would not go any faster. Well I guess they could have, but then my legs would have gone up over my head, and I might have had to roll the rest of the way down. Yeah, I didn’t want that to happen, so I let him go. It was a tough run, and I was proud to have completed it.

Once, I was done with all of my runs, the celebrating had to begin. We had a couple of dance parties while cheering in the rest of our runners. It was just all around good times, and everyone ran so well.  What amazing strong runners I was able to run with once again. I was so proud of all them.

It's a dance party

It is amazing though, that as soon as the team crosses the finish line, and you get your awesome bling, that you smack face first into a gigantic wall, and you just want a shower, some real food, and a bed!!! Then once you get those things, then you start thinking about all the Ragnar Races you want to participate in!

Awe. good times for sure!!

I run for good bling!!!

About Kathi

I am a runner! I am a mom of three and wife to one!!! I started running in high school, and it seems I was never able to shake it off. I have tried to breakup with running many times, but running just seems to always be a part of my life. I have been running so long that my husband runs, my sisters run, my brother runs, my 76 year old dad runs. I feel like if I can't breakup with running I better bring everyone else I love into the fold! I guess you could call our relationship a love/hate relationship. I sure hate running when I wake up for a race at 4:30 in the morning, but I sure love it when I cross the finish line!!!
This entry was posted in A Runner's Thoughts!, Everyday Running, Ragnar, Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vegas Baby…..Ragnar Style!

  1. Heather says:

    Congrats Kathi!!! Your leg was definitely not one I envied…that was a tough one for sure!! Good Job!! Our team had a lot of fun too…altho I still think I enjoy Wasatch Back a little bit more! 🙂

  2. Lacey says:

    what the junk! I need a ragnar team…..

  3. Kim says:

    Ditto the your last paragraph!

Leave a Reply

