Is there a Phenomenal Runner Within?!!

While I was running today I was thinking about peeps and their many talents!! Like how do people become talented artists, dancers, or athletes? Well usually these individuals started at a very young age and developed into superstars right?! Well then how do you explain the peeps that decide to start playing soccer in high school and then go pro? Or the pianist that decided to take a lesson in college and now is a concert pianist? Are these people just put on the earth for us to dislike very much? Okay that was me just being jealous.  I am not going to lie their talent frustrates the crap out of me!!  I would have liked a dose of super awesome natural talent myself. I’m not saying that I don’t have talents, but I just don’t have that, Wow, I just tried that for the first time and I happened to be the very best one, type of talent!!!

So, then with that thought, I thought of all the people who have not had the opportunity by choice or circumstance to even try sports, have an art class, play the piano, or experience one dance class. What if there are a zillion superstars but they have not even tried yet!!! What if you are a superstar and you are slowly letting your star burn out because you haven’t tried yet!!!

Okay now I am further into my run and I start thinking about runners. How many amazing runners are out there that have not even been for one run in their life? All they need to do is lace up their shoes and hit the streets.  They enter a race and they are one of the best. (so maybe you don’t even have to lace up your shoes. Look at all the Kenyans that run barefoot just as mode of transportation. Oh, and then, yes they are World Class Athletes)

So, are you one of those peeps that has a phenomenal runner within and you just don’t know it yet? Are you the amazing runner that hasn’t even tried running yet? Makes you think that you should give running a try right?!!

Question of the day: What was that one thing that made you decide to take up running?  For me it was always a friend. I started running because a friend wanted me to run with her. I became passionate about running because a friend wanted to get in shape, so we ran!! I continue to run for fun, strength, health and most importantly to be with my friends and family!! Cause you know the old saying: “The peeps that run together, have fun together”. Okay your right I just made that up!!!

“Every runner knows: it’s not just a hobby, it’s a passion. And when you find someone to share the passion with, it’s pure magic.” author unknown

Get out and live life more!!!

 

About Kathi

I am a runner! I am a mom of three and wife to one!!! I started running in high school, and it seems I was never able to shake it off. I have tried to breakup with running many times, but running just seems to always be a part of my life. I have been running so long that my husband runs, my sisters run, my brother runs, my 76 year old dad runs. I feel like if I can't breakup with running I better bring everyone else I love into the fold! I guess you could call our relationship a love/hate relationship. I sure hate running when I wake up for a race at 4:30 in the morning, but I sure love it when I cross the finish line!!!
This entry was posted in A Runner's Thoughts!, Everyday Running, Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Is there a Phenomenal Runner Within?!!

  1. Heather says:

    I also took up running when a friend asked me to join their Ragnar Relay Wasatch Back team. I had never ran more than a mile before and had no desire to. I started out slow…just running til the next mailbox before I would walk for a bit. Then the next time I’d go just a little farther…then a little farther. I found that running made me feel GREAT and I loved the time I got to spend with my BFF!! Now, 2 years after I started…I’m doing my 3rd Ragnar, done lots of 5k & 10k’s, 3 half marathons and just completed my very first full marathon! Friends make the journey worth while! And your blog helps keep me motivated…LOVE it!!

  2. Trish Vercoe says:

    I love what you said! So true!

  3. kim hall says:

    Great inspiration. I love running for how strong it makes me feel.

Leave a comment